DrK on 23/9/2007 at 16:09
Quote Posted by Convict
I thought England were not much good except for their mauls and lineouts and some of their scrummaging. I thought Samoa was in with a chance until late in the game.
Same here :)
D'Juhn Keep on 23/9/2007 at 17:45
AND ANOTHER THING that Samoa "try" was fucking laughable. How that was ever given is a mystery. "Under control and with downward pressure" there was NONE of the former and next to nothing of the latter.
DrK on 23/9/2007 at 18:07
Yeah but well, it's not like it changed anything. It's nice they allowed it, at least for the effort.
NZ was merciless against Scotland. It's very probable France will end up against them, and I'm pretty sure it will be our world cup gran finale :cheeky:
Zygoptera on 23/9/2007 at 23:53
Believe me, we do
not want to play France in the 1/4s. Some here still suffer Post Traumatic Stress Disorder from 1999.
Quote Posted by D'Juhn Keep
AND ANOTHER THING that Samoa "try" was fucking laughable. How that was ever given is a mystery. "Under control and with downward pressure" there was NONE of the former and next to nothing of the latter.
Unless they've changed the rules recently you don't actually need control to score a try, just downward pressure from arms/ torso and for the
re not to have been a prior infringement, eg knockon. It's one of the most mis-cited laws, along with commentators constantly referring to 'double movements' a rule which doesn't exist in union.
Shug on 24/9/2007 at 00:25
Surely a 'double movement' in union would be considered playing the ball on the ground anyway
Zygoptera on 24/9/2007 at 00:37
Yeah, basically you're allowed to place the ball (or pass it, with standard restrictions) in any direction so long as you do it 'immediately' on being tackled, per the standard tackle ball laws. Many who should know better- ie some professional commentators- seem to think that the rule is the same as in League, where it's illegal to reach out once the ball is grounded/ momentum is interrupted. It is open to some interpretation, as with most Union rules, but getting tackled, stopped, then reaching out and placing the ball over the line is fine so long as you do it immediately.
Hioncoffee II on 24/9/2007 at 01:21
Isn't the rule something to the effect of that after being grounded you have 3 seconds in which to release the ball or ground it?
Zygoptera on 24/9/2007 at 23:56
The law itself says immediately, though quite sensibly it's interpreted to give a couple of seconds grace. I don't know whether the IRB specifies a particularly length of time to 'immediately' or if it's solely a ref's discretion interpretation.
Shug on 25/9/2007 at 00:07
In other words; if you're a southern hemisphere ref play advantage, if you're northern hemisphere immediately blow a penalty
D'Juhn Keep on 25/9/2007 at 19:07
Quote Posted by Zygoptera
Unless they've changed the rules recently you don't actually need control to score a try, just downward pressure from arms/ torso
Huh! Always thought that you needed control. Thanks for the correction!
England apparently won't have Robinson, which is sad, and Vickery is on the bench, which is surprising!